top of page

Worthless Gratitude


I have been thinking about gratitude a great deal lately, likely as I have been living at the mercy of people's generosity lately--whether it's monthly support, donated furniture, help moving, transportation to and from appointments, or assistance in networking in the world of ministry. I am so reliant on the aid and guidance of others that I am left floundering with the question of how to properly express my gratitude and thankfulness. It is then I realized how little I have made a practice of doing so throughout my life.

Sure, we all hear "Thank you", "Thanks", "I appreciate it", and we've all seen the appreciative jerk of the heads between two men that somehow symbolizes mutual appreciation. (seriously, I don't get it...:)) Gratitude seems to just float through Christian circles on the wind. But I find myself wondering how far that "thanks" actually penetrates the heart and mind of the person towards whom it is directed. Are we saying "thank you" because we want to shower our helper with true gratitude? Or do we say it out of habit? Or in order to be polite? On the other side, are we so inundated with the expectation of a 'polite' thank you, that we see it as little more than an expected ritual, rather than taking such an expression into our hearts and minds.

It is no secret that I battle my own cynicism. (See earlier post) So, perhaps no one else struggles with hearing the words "thank you" and wondering if they truly are thankful for the work that went into that handmade picture frame. Which leads to me working hard to express my gratitude in grander ways so that the people I am thankful for truly understand how grateful I am, and that they are more than just two polite words. (explain anything?)

How often do we fail to tell someone that we are thankful for the impact they have had in our lives? How many times do we throw out a simple 'thank you' without really thinking about it? That doesn't mean we don't feel thankful. I truly believe that often we are more thankful than we choose to express. So why is expressing gratitude so difficult? (I feel myself veering into a rabbit trail here, so let's jump back to the point.)

'Thank you' just never seems to be enough. Let my every word and deed be an outpouring of gratitude, whether it is towards a mentor who cared for me after a small oral surgery, a friend who sent a card just to say 'hello', or toward the God who provides for my every need. Let all I do be motivated out of a grateful heart. Let my mouth sing along with David in the Psalms of thanksgiving and praise.

Might I stipulate that gratitude is more than a few words but something that ought to be reciprocated in how we interact with our brothers and sisters. This doesn't mean that we must 'balance the scales' so to speak, or repay the other person. Maybe it is more along the lines of the popular phrase, 'pay it forward'. Because we are grateful for that person who went out of his/her way to lend a hand, or patient ear, we are more willing to graciously do so for another person.

I can say that I am thankful for God's provision. I can repeat it day after day. But what does that truly mean if I do not respond to His gifts in some way? My gratitude overflows for how He has

cared for me. He has provided a safe and encouraging work environment, a seminary where I can grow in love and knowledge of Himself, a home for me to rest in, a ministry for me to pour into, and friends to celebrate and weep with. I want for nothing.

Because of this, may I sing praises to the Lord, on High. May I serve my community and friends with even greater joy in my heart. May I pour into my ministry with renewed fervor and passion. May I be grateful for all that He is.

In His Glorious name,

Amen


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page