top of page

Benefits of Being a Female Seminarian

"So what are you studying?" I ask as I hit the button for the fourth floor.

"MDiv, Leadership Development," the gentleman across from me answers confidently.

"No way!" I exclaim in excitement. "Me too!"

He looks taken aback, and a moment beats between us before he responds, "Really? That's cool!"

Ah, the joy of surprise. There was a time when I would be highly offended by the blatant shock I would see on men and women's faces when they discovered I was pursuing an MDiv. But now, I simply enjoy observing people's reactions. Now, most people wouldn't think twice about it. A reaction is a reaction right? Yet I began my Seminary education a year ago with all defenses raised and guns loaded. I was ready to be attacked for pursuing the Masters of Divinity, and I was not going to take it lying down.

But our God is amazing is He not? And while yes, I still get negative comments slipped innocently enough into conversations, or people asking me about my intentions as though to make sure I'm not trying to pastor a church or anything, God has also opened my eyes to the joys of being a female Seminarian.

  • Benefit #1: The professor will always know your name. Trivial to some, I know. But for a fairly passive student, who is easily forgotten or overlooked by teachers, this is very impactful to me. No more hiding in the corners. No more teacher staring at me blankly when I raise my hand. And oddly, this has helped ease my comfort level in class and helped my introverted self engage more in discussions.

  • Benefit #2: Private bathroom. Okay, okay. Laugh all you want. But come on. No long waits. No awkward sharing the mirror issues. And best of all? Quiet, private introvert space for me to recharge between long sessions. (9 straight hours of class. Need those ten minutes to myself)

  • Benefit #3: Being treated like a true Princess. I have been known to hate on men fromtime to time. Okay, a lot. Mostly a result of my past and some VERY feminist grandmothers… I have always been taught men are selfish, ignorant, and could care less about women except to fulfill their own needs... Forgive me, brothers in Christ for my jadedness. It is something I continually battle against and am hopefully softening in my heart. But in seminary, I am surrounded by a multitude of God-loving men who break those stereotypes every day. Doors are opened for me. I am always encouraged to be the first through a small space. Chairs are pulled out. My lunch trash is taken for me. When I was gone from class too long waiting for a guest speaker to arrive, one of them came down just to ensure I was alright. Ladies, in an environment where I expected to be fighting for my right to be there, I have been treated more warmly than anywhere else in my life. These men are incredible, and I am so grateful to God for the work He has done in them and is doing in me. **see note**​

  • Benefit #4: To be determined. I am sure God will reveal so much more to me in this journey, and I CANNOT WAIT to add to this list.

Short list, I know. But for the jaded me and maybe for some of those young women in there thinking about pursuing a ministry career or a seminary degree, these little things have made more of an impact than I can say.

And yes, there are some drawbacks...Coming into class after an hour lunch where half of them were outside in the 102 degree Arizona heat definitely had me longing for my body spray to spritz them all... And, I don't always get their sports analogies. (alright, almost never...) And, honestly, conversation in general takes a little more effort. But I the challenges just reveal ways God is working on his in order to make us greater servants. May He continue to stretch and use us for His kingdom.

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed it! Any other female seminaries or ministry leaders have anything to add? Let me know!

**note** Some will instantly scoff and roll their eyes at this and call these God-fearing men misogynistic or treating me as though I can’t do any of these things for myself. Misogyny: defined as a “Hatred of women”. Does it sound like any of these guys hate me? Or my gender? All I feel when these things are done is respected and valued. Valued. How many women in our society search for this all the time and never quite find it? In relationships, jobs, appearance, family, friends? How many women are searching for equality in their secular workspace in order to feel valued? Now, don’t get me wrong. I am all for female empowerment and women getting paid the same as men. (come on, I’m a female seminarian.) But…goodness, I can’t quite find the words anymore. Passion is clogging my brain. When we view each other Imago Dei, as made in the image of God, it changes the way we treat one another. When the seminary men treat me this way, honor and respect me, they do so because I am a daughter of God. I am valued because of Him. [[Oh goodness, this could veer off into an entirely different and yet related conversation. Hopefully I will write more in depth on this in another post.]] Conversely, I hope to show how I value them by respecting their leadership. I do not mean simply letting them make a decision and run with it; I readily challenge some of their ideas in a loving manner. Yet, I believe that as Christian women, we can value and respect our Christian brothers most by encouraging, affirming, and cheering them on as leaders in our homes, communities, churches. In return, my fellow daughters of the King, you will be treated like Princesses. It’s not some far off fairytale. It is the Truth that the Gospel brings. And the hope of a life in Christ.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page