top of page

Distance


Let's be honest. Distance sucks. Whether it's the distance to the end of a race, the distance between you and that package you ordered. The distance between villages. The distance from one base to another. The distance from you and your family, or friends. Distance...just causes problems.

Recently, my sister went through something pretty devastating at college. (You'll have to ask her for details on that...) And it's times like that, that distance cuts the deepest. When you get that call, hearing that your sister's in trouble, the first thing you want to do is be there--whether it's to have that box of tissues and chocolates ready or to come down hard on those that hurt her, you just want to be THERE. Believe me, if I hadn't just used up all my vacation time for a friend's wedding, I would have been looking at plance tickets. So, next step, figure out what friends you have in the area. Unfortunately, for me, that adds up tooo.....one. And he just had knee surgery and wasn't driving two hours under THAT medication...

Philippians 4:6-7

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

So there I was, helpess, worried, and just wanting to be there. Even though I KNOW my sister isn't a talker. I KNOW she wouldn't turn to me in a thousand years. My heart ached to just be with her and support her, let her know that I stood behind her. But I couldn't. As my mentor put it, she had to learn a lesson on her own. (Let me tell you, that was NOT an easy conversation...)

Distance hurts. But God's glory is seen so much brighter in the midst of hurt. While I am so much more than positive that He has used this experience to grow and mold her, I may never truly know how. He has shown her a glimpse of the people around her that love her, that care about her well-being. And He showed me that too. It was such a, well, a slap in the face really. It's as though God was chastising or scolding me. "It's not your job to take care of her. It is mine."

Romans 8:28

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

I can worry and fret all I want. I can defend her from elementary school bullies, teach her, protect her, encourage her all I want. But ultimately, she is the daughter of the greatest king, and He has her in His hand. He is holding her and guiding her, teaching her and protecting her, molding her and living life with her. And in that, I put my trust.

Romans 11:36

For from Him and through Him and to Him are all things To Him be the glory forever. Amen.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page